Poems of Louis Aragon

The great love story of Louis and Elsa Triolet

San Cassimally
6 min readSep 7, 2021
Louis and Elsa

Louis Aragon, part of the French surrealist movement, was a poet, but also novelist, journalist and pamphleteer. He was a lifelong communist although hetook his distance from Stalinism over the invasion of Hungary. He was also defined by the great love he shared with his Muse and wife, Elsa Triolet. The two poems here are testaments for their great love. His poems have been great favourites of French chansonniers and singers.

Aimer à perdre la raison

Aimer à n’en savoir que dire

A n’avoir que toi d’horizon

Et ne connaître de saisons

Que par la douleur du partir

Aimer a perdre la raison

Ah c’est toujours toi que l’on blesse

C’est toujours ton miroir brisé

Mon pauvre bonheur, ma faiblesse

Toi qu’on insulte et qu’on délaisse

Dans toute chair martyrisée

Aimer à perdre la raison

Aimer a n’en savoir que dire

A n’avoir que toi d’horizon

Et ne connaître de saisons

Que par la douleur du partir

Aimer a perdre la raison

La faim, la fatigue et le froid

Toutes les misères du monde

C est par mon amour que j’y crois

En elle je porte ma croix

Et de leurs nuits ma nuit se fonde

Aimer à perdre la raison

Aimer a n’en savoir que dire

A n’avoir que toi d’horizon

Et ne connaître de saisons

Que par la douleur du partir

Aimer a perdre la raison .

-

To love until you lose your mind

To love until you lose your mind

With words to say it impossible to find

With only you as my horizon

Unable to recognise the season

Except by the pain of departure

Lost, mindless like one in rapture

You’re always the one getting hurt

Always your mirror that gets broken

You’re my happiness, my weakness

You’re the one insulted and forsaken

The flesh of your body martyred

To love until you lose your mind

With words to say it impossible to find

With only you as my horizon

Unable to recognise the season

Except by the pain of departure

Lost, mindless like one in rapture

It’s through the filter of our passion

That I feel hunger, cold or exhaustion

All the misery of our planet

If I have faith it’s through my love that I feel it

I bear my cross in her light

And on their nights rest my night

To love until you lose your mind

With words to say it impossible to find

With only you as my horizon

Unable to recognise the season

Except by the pain of departure

Lost, mindless like one in rapture

***

Nous dormirons ensemble

Nous dormirons ensemble

Que ce soit dimanche ou lundi

Soir ou matin minuit midi

Dans l’enfer ou le paradis

Les amours aux amours ressemblent

C’était hier que je t’ai dit

Nous dormirons ensemble

C’était hier et c’est demain

Je n’ai plus que toi de chemin

J’ai mis mon coeur entre tes mains

Avec le tien comme il va l’amble

Tout ce qu’il a de temps humain

Nous dormirons ensemble

Mon amour ce qui fut sera

Le ciel est sur nous comme un drap

J’ai refermé sur toi mes bras

Et tant je t’aime que j’en tremble

Aussi longtemps que tu voudras

Nous dormirons ensemble

-

We will sleep together

We will sleep together

Be it Sunday

Or Monday

Noon or sunrise

In hell or paradise

Love is its own reflection

Let us forever share a bed

’Twas yesterday and it’s now tomorrow

You’re my only way ahead

My heart I’ve let you borrow

To keep in safety next to yours

For all the remaining hours

We will sleep together

Beloved, what has been will last forever

Heaven’s spread over us like a blanket

I’ll wrap your body in mine

Morning or sunset

Rain or shine

I love you so much I shiver

And for as long as you desire

We will sleep together

***

Que serais-je sans toi

Que serais-je sans toi qui vins à ma rencontre
Que serais-je sans toi qu’un coeur au bois dormant
Que cette heure arrêtée au cadran de la montre
Que serais-je sans toi que ce balbutiement

J’ai tout appris de toi sur les choses humaines
Et j’ai vu désormais le monde à ta façon
J’ai tout appris de toi comme on boit aux fontaines
Comme on lit dans le ciel les étoiles lointaines
Comme au passant qui chante on reprend sa chanson
J’ai tout appris de toi jusqu’au sens du frisson.

Que serais-je sans toi qui vins à ma rencontre
Que serais-je sans toi qu’un coeur au bois dormant
Que cette heure arrêtée au cadran de la montre
Que serais-je sans toi que ce balbutiement.

J’ai tout appris de toi pour ce qui me concerne
Qu’il fait jour à midi qu’un ciel peut être bleu
Que le bonheur n’est pas un quinquet de taverne
Tu m’as pris par la main dans cet enfer moderne
Où l’homme ne sait plus ce que c’est qu’être deux
Tu m’as pris par la main comme un amant heureux.

Que serais-je sans toi qui vins à ma rencontre
Que serais-je sans toi qu’un coeur au bois dormant
Que cette heure arrêtée au cadran de la montre
Que serais-je sans toi que ce balbutiement.

Qui parle de bonheur a souvent les yeux tristes
N’est-ce pas un sanglot de la déconvenue
Une corde brisée aux doigts du guitariste
Et pourtant je vous dis que le bonheur existe
Ailleurs que dans le rêve ailleurs que dans les nues
Terre terre voici ses rades inconnues.

Que serais-je sans toi qui vins à ma rencontre
Que serais-je sans toi qu’un coeur au bois dormant
Que cette heure arrêtée au cadran de la montre
Que serais-je sans toi que ce balbutiement.

-

Who would I be without you

Who would I be without you had our paths not crossed

Who without you? But a heart in a sleepy patch

Time at a standstill in the dial of my watch

Who but a stuttering little boy lost

I readily learnt from you everything human-wise

And henceforth I’ve only seen things through your eyes

All from you, from your deep fountains imbibed

Like in the sky faraway stars are described

Making the tune hummed by a stranger one’s own

From you I even learnt the meaning of frisson

Who would I be without you had our paths not crossed

Who without you? But a heart in a sleepy patch

Time at a standstill in the dial of my watch

Who but a stuttering little boy lost

I discovered who I really am from you

That at noon it’s daytime that the sky may be blue

That happiness is not a lamp in the tavern

You took me by the hand in this hell modern

Where man no longer remembers how to be two

Like a happy lover you took me by the hand

Who would I be without you had our paths not crossed

Who without you? But a heart in a sleepy patch

Time at a standstill in the dial of my watch

Who but a stuttering little boy lost

They often have sad eyes whoever speak of bliss

Is it not for the disheartened a tear drop from the eyes

A broken string in the fingers of the guitarist

Yet I insist on telling you happiness exists

Even outside of dreams and outside the skies

Earth Oh earth here are the unknown territories

Who would I be without you had our paths not crossed

Who without you? But a heart in a sleepy patch

Time at a standstill in the dial of my watch

Who but a stuttering little boy lost

--

--

San Cassimally

Prizewinning playwright. Mathematician. Teacher. Professional Siesta addict.